McDonald’s! How can you not love this fast-food chain restaurant?
They serve an array of food and over the years, have been making adjustments to their menus globally, in order to satisfy an ever-expanding variety of customers.
But there is one particular set of food that is missing; gluten-free McDonalds.
You guessed it, people who cannot consume gluten for medical reasons and those who just choose not to would also like to enjoy gluten-free McDonald’s food.
When it comes to eating fast food, there is a lot of buzz around one specific ingredient and that is gluten!
However, a significant portion of the population around the world prefers eating gluten-free. They avoid eateries lacking gluten-free options.
But why is that so and is gluten really that bad to consume? Well, we have the answers!
What is Gluten?
Gluten is a protein mostly found in wheat plants, oats, and grains.
It can also be obtained from rye, barley, and a cross between the two.
Gluten is added to many foods to impart protein content, flavor, and texture. It also holds the food together while processing and gives it the desired shape.
Examples of gluten foods
You won’t know but even the french fries you eat have gluten in them. That’s right, those are not gluten-free french fries!
Your favorite tortilla strips, ranch dressing, and baked foods, all have gluten in them mostly.
Therefore, it won’t be wrong to say that people have been consuming gluten for as long as they’ve been making bread.
Is Gluten Bad to Eat?
It’s not easy to say gluten is bad or good because it affects each person differently.
But the fact is that gluten is only bad for those who it affects negatively, as it cannot be completely broken down in the digestive system, and such causes many issues and even food sensitivities.
How can gluten affect digestion?
The protease enzyme in your gastrointestinal tract that breaks down the protein content of the food you eat can’t simplify gluten.
The undigested gluten then enters the small intestine and is likely to trigger life-threatening food allergies.
It also initiates various auto-immune responses that have unpleasant effects on the body. However, some people can handle undigested gluten easily.
In such cases, the question arises whether the gluten you’re consuming is processed or natural.
The refined and processed gluten might be dangerous for some people but not the one acquired from natural, organic sources.
Who Should Avoid Gluten?
According to Harvard University, people with celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, wheat allergy, and gluten ataxia should avoid eating gluten items and rather look for a gluten-free menu.
This is because such people can’t bear the unpleasant responses that gluten is likely to trigger.
It subjects them to various dietary restrictions and they cannot eat at most fast-food restaurants easily.
Is there really a gluten-free menu?
If you are one of them, there is good news for you.
You may be able to compile your very own Mcdonald’s gluten-free menu in 2022.
It is essential to note that Mcdonald’s has not announced that they sell gluten-free items but there is a workaround, as some of their food items don’t have gluten in them.
Here we have listed various gluten-free McDonald’s items.
If you didn’t know about it and have been avoiding them, you may be able to satisfy your gluten-sensitive tummy with a little fast food.
However, you should do some with the utmost caution and in moderation because all the menu items are prepared around gluten items, which makes them susceptible to cross-contamination.
Gluten-Free Items You Must Try at McDonald’s
Before we begin with the list of gluten-free McDonald’s items, it is to be noted that the franchisee doesn’t have gluten-free buns for their burgers, and as early highlighted, all food options can become cross-contaminated.
However, many types of salad, crispy chicken, carrot sticks, coffee, and desserts are gluten-free so you can enjoy them as your snack.
1) McDonald’s burgers
The burgers at McDonald’s might not be gluten-free but you can make them so.
The easiest way to do that is to order burgers without a bun and big mac sauce because both of them have gluten in them.
Moreover, instead of crispy chicken, a beef patty is a safer option to eat if you have a gluten allergy.
It has a natural beef flavor and can be a great treat to your gluten-sensitive stomach. But if you want to eat chicken, ask for grilled chicken then.
2) McDonald’s sides
Apple dippers, low-fat caramel dip, and fruit n’ yogurt parfait but without granola can be delicious sides to provide an extra gluten-free crunch.
3) McDonald’s salad
McDonald’s removed all of its salads during 2020, as the pandemic caused the eatery to trim its menu down.
However, McDonald’s salads were one of the most delicious blends and a significant part of the gluten-free McDonald’s foods.
Caesar salad without chicken, premium bacon ranch salad, side salad and premium southwest salad, excluding tortilla chips are a few of the safest options to consume.
Let’s all pray that the company brings back these on its menu soon.
Till then, you can try scrambled eggs and sausage patties to satisfy your cravings.
4) McDonald’s Desserts
McDonald’s has the perfect dessert collection to satisfy your sugar cravings. These heavenly foods include Cadbury chocolate Mcflurry, McDonald’s sundae, chocolate chip, and McDonald’s shakes.
Regular caramel sundaes with hot fudge and whipped cream are fine to consume. Additional toppings, such as M&Ms or Oreo cookie crumbs, should be avoided.
Most Mcflurries are OK to eat, but those with Oreo or other cookie crumbs, as well as M&Ms and other candies, should be avoided.
McDonald’s shakes come in a variety of flavors, all of which are gluten-free.
The vanilla reduced fat ice cream in a cup, the classic strawberry banana, and mango pineapple are some fantastic treats because they’re unlikely to become gluten-contaminated through contact with other foods.
McDonald’s smoothies come in a variety of flavors, and the yogurt used in them is gluten-free.
5) McDonald’s fried foods
Mcdonald’s is mainly known for its fried stuff. Topping them all are the Mcdonalds fries.
They are made from organic potatoes fried in vegetable oil, like corn oil or canola oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, sodium acid pyrophosphate, and a natural beef flavor.
Despite being the most popular around the world, Mcdonald’s fries have been facing controversy lately.
There’s a substantial discussion regarding whether the fries are affected by significant cross-contamination during the frying process.
But according to the McDonald’s website, they aren’t!
The company claims that they don’t fry their french fries in the same fryer as their gluten-containing foods, so they’re ok for the celiac friends to eat.
6) McDonald’s Drinks
It is mentioned above that drinks and smoothies at McDonald’s are safe to consume.
Frappes with caramel, chocolate chips, or mocha; these heavenly blends of sugar, spice, and everything lovely are perfect for snacking on the road.
The famous premium-roast coffee, whether you prefer your coffee iced or hot, is believed to be one of the best among fast-food establishments.
It is gluten-free and safe for people with gluten sensitivity.
McDonald’s is one of the most popular food chains in the world and as such needs to cater to a variety of customers, even those with gluten sensitivity.
Though there is no explicit gluten-free menu, you can certainly create your own with a few of their food items.
Don’t forget to double-check the ingredients before consumption and eat in moderation.
Privacy & Cookies Policy
Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the website to function properly. This category only includes cookies that ensures basic functionalities and security features of the website. These cookies do not store any personal information.
Any cookies that may not be particularly necessary for the website to function and is used specifically to collect user personal data via analytics, ads, other embedded contents are termed as non-necessary cookies. It is mandatory to procure user consent prior to running these cookies on your website.